Learning and Caring

Middle Years Programme

Learning & Caring

Middle Years Programme


Years 7–10

St Mary Star of the Sea College is an authorised International Baccalaureate World school and delivers the Middle Years Programme (MYP) to students in Years 7 – 10. Only schools authorised by the IB Organisation can offer any of its four academic programmes: the Primary Years Programme (PYP), the Middle Years Programme (MYP), the Diploma Programme (DP), or the Career-related Programme (CP).

The IB is a global, not-for-profit educational organisation, that is motivated by a mission to create a better world through education. The IB promotes intercultural understanding and respect and encourages students “…across the world to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners who understand that other people, with their differences can also be right.” (IB Mission Statement)

The MYP delivers authentic learning opportunities for students to learn through inquiry and the focus on the Approaches to Learning Skills (ATLs) help students to develop their thinking, social, research, language and reflective skills across the curriculum.

For further information about the IB and its programmes visit http://www.ibo.org


Stage 4 Curriculum

Stage 5 Curriculum (Years 9 & 10)